Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Modular Design
In getting back in game and having to relearn 3d design, and also seeing the comments at how unfriendly the designer is to those needing to learn it for the first time. I began thinking of the Mr. Potatohead method of taking a hull and plugging in the accessories. Because most players are casual at heart and prefer to just throw something cool together and go have fun. ("dammit Jim, I'm a gamer not an engineer!") 

Obviously it should be a little more involved than that, but not by a whole lot. It would mean more work for Haxus on the back end, developing the tools and methods that designers would use and building a set modules for players to start with. But on the front end I think it could remove many of the frustrations new players have in space flight and could possibly increase retention.

Ships could be broken down into two Larger module categories, Exterior and Interior. Those would again be broken down by object type. Everything would be kept in a library accessible in the designer via drop down list. Other modules and assorted parts could be published to a "Library" section in the Exchange and downloaded to our individual libraries.

Ship interiors would consist of prebuilt rooms with paths, voids, obstructions and what not  already there. Rooms could be snapped together using the docking mechanic idea Haxus was toying with. Bridge/Cockpits could come with prebuilt frames outside so exteriors can be built to fit. (I foresee making making the bridge modular, and unique, being the most difficult part)  Lift system would work the same except that a door designated for the lift would be built into the room and then a lift could be chosen from the library to associate with it.