Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Spacecraft Designer - Extremely long calculations, memory leaks, crashing, oh my!
I'm relatively new to the designer but I've spoken with some more experienced players and this is not just something I am alone in experiencing! Sorry if this is a bit much, trying to jot down all that I can think of before I head to bed.

So three main things:

1) Extremely long calculations - It takes a very large amount of time to complete the 'refresh obstructions' phase of design, is there anything that can be done to optimize that?
The design process of wondering what the volume is going to be, pressing refresh obstructions and hoping it doesn't crash, exiting the game when it does, scaling down, repeating doesn't make much sense to me.

Suggestion: optimizations aside, maybe the volume calculation could be made separate from the 'obstructions' calculation, so that we don't have to run the latter unless we are satisfied with the volume? Having that information available to us before running 'refresh obstructions' would take much of the guesswork out of designing and make it much less painful on us and our computers.

2) Memory leaks - I have been trying to run a calculation for a larger (low poly) design and it consistently runs leaking memory until the full 16gb of my system is used up. The design is large, but I have seen larger in game and I don't really know why it isn't working for me. Is 16gb not enough for this task? Or is it a memory leak? If it isn't perhaps something can be done so that players with less than 32 gb are capable of producing larger designs.

This ultimately results in...